Dear 2015,

I was really looking forward to you. I was. See, 2014 was one of my least favorite years thus far. Yep. Your buddy, 2014, really knocked the wind out of me. I was so thankful that it was going to end better than it started what with the birth of a healthy, wonderful boy and moving back to my hometown (and away from everything I hated about seedy Las Vegas). I mean, this was the last week! We, as a family, had a wonderful Christmas and had made it all the way to the end. The bad was over. I was ready to bid adieu the two-month hospital stay, the four-month terror of a complicated pregnancy, the threat of a premature delivery and what that could mean for the future, the relentless medical bills, the abject poverty, the stress of yet another interstate move. I was going to toast, if not at midnight (I haven’t made it to the actual dawn of the New Year since I had babies) then as close as I could get, to auld lang syne along with everyone else celebrating the annual out with the old and in with the new.

But old 2014. He’s a wily one. This last grenade, the one he saved to lob at us so close to the very end, it’s a doozy. I’ve gotta hand it to him, the sly devil. I didn’t see it coming. I mean, I guess I wondered and deep down inside I had inklings but showing up at the pediatrician on Monday and having her, before we had even gotten the questions finished, say “we should have your daughter evaluated for autism”, that was quite a thing.

So I guess, 2015, what I’m asking, nay, begging for, is please be nice to me. I’m this close to my breaking point. I’m okay putting all of my get-skinny, start-exercising, get-back-in-touch-with-old-friends, go-to-the-doctor-and-find-out-if-it-really-is ankylosing-spondylitis-and/or-what-the-hell-that-heart-palpitation-is plans on hold. I’m okay, as a matter of fact, with fitting this new piece into the puzzle of my life. But I’m not sure I can take anything else. So please remember, when you’re dealing the cards this year, that 2014 gave me kind of a crap hand. Thanks in advance.

Yours etc,
Anjeanette

