Tags

, , , ,

I don’t have a ton of time right now as the baby is napping and I’m trying to make a meal, but the past couple of days have seemed so magically better that I just wanted to drop in and say so. Really – if you’re a new mom who is freaking out and wondering if you’re ever going to get the hang of parenting and feel normal again – YOU WILL!!  I don’t know what happened this weekend – it’s not like Louisa started acting differently or anything, but I suddenly just feel like I’m getting the hang of this whole Mama thing. It only took 2 & 1/2 months, not bad right? I mean, don’t get me wrong, I still have moments where I remember how thin and well rested I used to be, and days where I long for conversations with adults, but I wouldn’t trade this stay-at-home-mom gig for anything.

My parents came to visit on Saturday and Lou behaved beautifully the entire time. On Sunday Jason and I took the babe to the park and for a drive in the car and again she behaved beautifully – no screaming at all! That night we thought we’d test drive her crib, which turned out to be a really stupid idea. She went to sleep at her normal time, 10:30ish, but woke up 45 minutes later and was in a reallllly bad mood. She screamed for a while, and then stayed up until 1 in the morning – oops. Needless to say, at that point we put her back in her cradle thing and decided to try the crib again later. I’ve been making her nap in it all this week hoping that eventually she’ll get accustomed enough to it to sleep at night. If not I guess we’ll fight that battle when we have to (which is in about 3 months, as that is the maximum age on the cradle thing according to the website). Jason had Monday off for Columbus Day (which is wacky considering he doesn’t work for the state or the government – just a really nice company apparently), so his mom came to visit us. Louisa was a DREAM. Last time his mom came she (the baby, not Nana) slept almost the entire time. This time she was smiling and singing and gabbling – it was awesome. After Nana left we shoved the baby in the carseat and took her to Costco and the grocery store and she again was wonderful. She kicked and played in her stroller and just took everything in. Maybe 3 months is just the magical age where babies stop fussing so much in public? Who knows. Anyway, since then I’ve just been having so much fun being a mom to her. I have a new game where I pretend I’m eating her feet and she just lauuuuughs at me. And she is in love with her playmat, kicking and batting at things like she is on a mission. It’s awesome. So I guess this post was longer than I meant it to be. I’m just so in love with my daughter! And look at her! Who wouldn’t be?

