Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Welcome to my third trimester! According to the all powerful pregnancy sources the third trimester doesn’t officially begin until next week, but eff that. According to my calculations 40 weeks divided by 3 trimesters = 13 weeks (and a few days) per trimester so stuff it pregnancy people. Not that this really means anything other than it’s the last trimester, and Baby L’s arrival draws ever closer. Did you like how I threw that L in there? It’s a teaser. Her name starts with L (barring any unforseen last minute mind changes) – now you can try to guess what it is.

I’m officially 6 months pregnant! This week Baby L is the size of a head of cauliflower, weighs just about 2 pounds, and is roughly 14 & 1/2 inches long. Are those measurements the same as last week? They are all beginning to sound the same to me. I check these emails every Friday and aside from the shiny, new produce references the information all sounds the same. Oh well. The gist? She’s getting bigger. As am I. In fact, as my husband so eloquently put it, my pregnant belly finally sticks out further than my boobs. Because that is pertinent information. But you guys, really, I feel huge. And it’s not like I’m going to get any smaller in the next 3 months. It’s becoming increasingly difficult to move, bend over, walk, breathe, basically just to live. And it’s so hot in Vegas. Mostly I just stay in the house with the lovely air conditioning, but when I do have to get out — what a challenge. Even sleeping at night is a chore.

Last weekend for my birthday Jason and I went to my dad’s house in St. George and we all went to Zion National Park. It was gorgeous and fun. Even though I was huge and breathless and could barely walk. I haven’t been there since my early 20s and had forgotten just how breathtaking Southern Utah is. I love it! And I’m so glad to be living at least close to my home state again. My dad bought a cute little junior ranger outfit that Baby L probably can’t wear until she’s 2 years old, but he couldn’t resist and was afraid it would be gone in 2 years when she gets big enough, which really, it probably will. It’s so damn cute how excited he is to be a Grandpa.

I had another ultrasound this week; my cervix is hanging in there so it was my last transvaginal (sorry) ultrasound. In 2 weeks I have another abdominal ultrasound scheduled to check L’s growth and anatomy again. Next week is the first of two childbirth classes, which I’m looking forward to. I guess. I mean, what can they really teach you? Shit is gonna hurt? Big ol’ baby is going to come out your hoohaw? How prepared can you really be? But, I’m going because I would like to be as prepared as possible. We’ll see what they have to say.

