Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m 24 weeks pregnant. Which means I have only 16 weeks to go. Well, roughly 16 weeks, it could be less. If I go all the way to 40 weeks I have 16 left. I’m a first-time Mama so who knows, I probably will go all the way (actually I’ll probably go 2 weeks OVER), but what I’m saying is HOLY CRAP ONLY 16 WEEKS ?! That’s less than 4 months! Why does that seem so close? I’m excited, obviously, but more than a little bit frightened. I mean, wow, I’ll be a parent. Like, forever. Oddly enough the birthing part, which should probably scare the shit out of me, doesn’t. I’m not sure why. Doesn’t every woman freak out a little bit at the thought of their cervix dilating to 10 effing centimeters and a big ol’ baby head popping its way through there? Maybe I’m in denial. We’ll see what happens when it’s only 4 weeks away.

Anyway – hello there! I’m 24 weeks pregnant! My baby is the size of a grapefruit (but is definitely sweeter – ba dum CHING), or an ear of corn. I think possibly the ear of corn is a length comparison? Right? Or maybe not. I guess babies aren’t round like grapefruits/papayas/mangoes so perhaps the ear of corn is the better comparison. Either way, baby is still some sort of produce. And still kicking holy CRAP. I’ve started to feel her banging on stuff higher up and putting pressure on stuff lower down. The higher up kicks are welcome because mostly she’s been flailing pretty low in my lady bits region and it gets a little uncomfortable sometimes. She likes to lodge some part of herself (I’m guessing a wee leg) way down there and while it doesn’t exactly hurt it’s not my favorite sensation.

The peeing is becoming increasingly ridiculous. I still have to go at an embarrassing frequency and now it has also gotten to the point where when I gotta go, I gotta GO, yo. No waiting, no holding it, if there isn’t a bathroom nearby I’m doomed. Which is why if I ever go to a new place the first thing I do is locate the nearest restroom, just in case.

I have no food cravings to report this week, but I have been pretty hungry. The past few weeks the hunger had subsided a little bit, but this week it’s back with a vengeance.  It’s like the peeing in that when it hits, it hits and if I have to wait it’s not good. Announcing “I’m hungry, let’s eat dinner soon” to my husband cannot be responded to with “hold on a second I’m fiddling with my guitar/messing about on the internet/doing something really important” (as it almost always is, why is he always doing stuff?) without me growling and/or snarling a little bit.

One fabulous new pregnancy symptom of the week is dizziness/lightheadedness. This is probably being exacerbated by the recent heat wave because HOLYCRAPISITHOTINVEGAS – look at this weather forecast! It’s only April!

I'm MELLLLLLTIIIIIIIING!

Not that I’m complaining. I spent 10 years in a cloudy rainstorm and after a mere 6 months of sunshine I’m still not over it. Can you imagine, though, what it’s going to be like when I’m 39 & 1/2 weeks pregnant and it’s 105? I’m betting I’ll be super bitchy.

The other new pregnancy symptom isn’t really new I just keep forgetting to mention it. It has, however, gotten much more prominent (to the point that my husband was like “um… is that normal?”): extreme veininess (and no, since you asked, veininess is not a real word, but I like saying extreme veininess better than saying visible veins during pregnancy because that second one just sounds lame). My skin has always been translucent enough to see the veins underneath, but they weren’t overly noticeable. Suddenly, however, the skin on my chest, upper arms, and most recently my pregnant belly has begun to resemble Darth Maul’s face. Except, you know,  white and blue, not red and black. And without horns. Okay so it looks nothing like Darth Maul’s face. But I’m nerdy enough to include a pic anyway.

Why exactly is he thusly colored?
image from wookieepedia.

The scientific explanation for this phenomenon, according to What To Expect When You’re Expecting,  is that during pregnancy your blood supply increases by 20%-40% in order to carry nutrients to your baby. Increased blood supply = increase visibility of that blood supply.

That’s it for this week. Tune in next week when I’ll be posting from Utah where my first shower (the baby kind, that is, I do the cleansing kind every day) is being held next Saturday. My sister and one of my brothers (and his dog) will also be there and we’re probably staying at my mom’s, which can be… interesting. But it should be a lot of fun and I’m really looking forward to it. I get to see a bunch of fun relatives.  Plus, my Aunt (at whose house the shower is being held – yeah, that didn’t sound grammatically correct to me either, but whatevs) has brand new kittens! Like, brand new – her kitty just gave birth a few weeks ago. I love me some kittens and can’t wait to hold them and squeeze them and call them squishy. And duh, baby presents. Who doesn’t love that?

