Tags

, , ,

I try to steer clear of controversial topics in my blog (and in my every day conversations really) like religion, politics, etc, because I’m very non-confrontational and I hate heated discussions. But this… this is something I feel pretty strongly about. It’s not okay, and I can’t stand by and just think “wow, that’s awful” before I go about the rest of my day.

I just finished reading The Hunger Games trilogy (yes, I know, y’all read it years ago, but I’m old and usually behind the times so leave me alone) and have really been looking forward to seeing the movie. Last night a friend of mine was in town; he is reading the books as well so we obviously began discussing the movie. He asked if I’d heard/read anything about the controversy over Rue (if you’re one of the 5 people who haven’t read the books, she’s a pretty major character in the first one). No, I hadn’t. Apparently people were genuinely angry that she and some other characters are black. Apparently people in this country are still gigantic racists. Really? Am I just naive? It’s 2012, I sort of assumed we were past all of that, but boy was I wrong. A dude created a Tumblr site about the controversy (that mostly happened over Twitter, from what I gather), which is where I ended up this morning as I started researching.  This video was particularly nauseating (if you go watch it, don’t say I didn’t warn you), and is making me feel… I don’t even know. Bewildered? Horrified? Angry? All of the above? If you want to see the entire collection of racist remarks (whether you read the books or not) go here, or just google “hunger games tweets”, but prepare to be horrified. Unless, of course, you’re a racist jerk too.

